2009. február 10., kedd

Coleman Hawkins - Desafinado Bossa Nova and Jazz Samba 1962

Download _DATA

1. Desafinado
2. I'm Looking Over A Four Leaf Clover (Jazz Samba)
3. Samba Para Bean
4. I Remember You
5. One Note Samba (Samba De Uma Nota So)
6. O Pato (The Duck)
7. Un Abraco No Bonfa (An Embrace To Bonfa)
8. Stumpy Bossa Nova

This set seems to have the word "fad" written all over it, but surprisingly it is a major success. During the era when everyone was trying to cash in on the popularity of bossa nova, tenor-great Coleman Hawkins recorded eight selections with a group consisting of two guitars, bass and three percussionists. In addition to a classic version of "O Pato" and such typical songs as "Desafinado" and "One Note Samba," Hawkins and company even turn "I'm Looking over a Four Leaf Clover" into a strong bossa.

Nincsenek megjegyzések: