2013. április 19., péntek

Jimmy Smith - Keep On Comin LP 1983 ( featuring: Kenny Burell, Jonny Griffin, Mike Baker) Digital transfer 192 KHz 32 bit, noise cleaning and mixed, at Audio Design Studio made​​ 2013th.


1 - Keep On Comin' (Jimmy Smith) 12:38
2 - Be Yourself (Jimmy Smith)   8:04
3 - No Problem (Jimmy Smith)   7:30
4 - Piano Solo Medley - Summertime / Yesterdays (Jimmy Smith) 4:30           
5 - Callitwhachawanna (Jimmy Smith) 8:20

Jimmy Smith - Organ, piano
Kenny Burell - Guitar
Johnny Griffin - Tenor saxophone
Mike Baker - Drums


Organist Jimmy Smith's second of two LPs for the Elektra Musician label is unusual in a couple of respects. He had never played organ with tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin before and on one piece, "Piano Solo Medley," Smith has a very rare feature on piano. Otherwise, Keep on Comin' is in the soulfully swinging vein that one associates with the great organist, with the music comprised of recent originals by Smith, Griffin, and guitarist Kenny Burrell, who with drummer Mike Baker completes the quartet. ~ Scott Yanow Recorded at the Atlanta Free Jazz Festival, Atlanta, Georgia. Personnel: Jimmy Smith (piano, organ); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Johnny Griffin (tenor saxophone); Mike Baker (drums). Audio Remixers: Bob Mockler; Johnny Pate. Liner Note Author: Jimmy Smith . Recording information: 09/03/1983. Editor: Johnny Pate. Photographer: Benno Friedman.

Nincsenek megjegyzések: