2009. október 31., szombat

Anita O'day - At Mister Kelly's 1958


01 But Not for Me Gershwin, Gershwin
02 I Have a Reason for Living
03 My Love for You
04 Varsity Drag Brown, DeSylva, Henderson
05 It Never Entered My Mind Hart, Rodgers
06 Tea for Two Caesar, Youmans
07 Every Time I'm With You
08 Have You Met Miss Jones? Hart, Rodgers
09 The Wildest Cat in Town
10 Star Eyes DePaul, Raye
11 Loneliness Is a Well Albany, Albany
12 The Song Is You Hammerstein, Kern

Review by Richard S. Ginell
Caught live with just her piano trio at Chicago's famous now-defunct nightclub, Anita O'Day is in an ebullient mood as she tosses off a series of standards and novelties. Whether this is an accurate snapshot of her live act is open to question; the stage business in between numbers seems rather formal and one doesn't really feel the excitement of a live performance. Yet O'Day is clearly in a creative mood, whether allowing her vulnerability to show in the torchy ballads or reveling in the boppish uptempo workouts. Her vocal on "Tea For Two" is a virtuoso deconstruction, full of satiric quotes and rhythmic shifts at a warp-speed tempo. Fleet-fingered Joe Masters decorates the fills with standard bop runs on the slightly-out-of-tune house piano.