2008. augusztus 24., vasárnap

Frank Sinatra with Quincy Jones and Orchestra - L.A. Is My Lady


01 - L.A. Is My Lady
02 - The Best Of Everything
03 - How Do You Keep The Music Playing
04 - Teach Me Tonight
05 - It's All Right With Me
06 - Mack The Knife
08 - Stormy Weather
09 - If I Should Lose You
10 - A Hundred Years From Today
11 - After You've Gone

L.A. Is My Lady is a 1984 (see 1984 in music) album by Frank Sinatra, featuring arrangements by Quincy Jones. It was the last solo album that Sinatra recorded.

The album came after an album of duets between Sinatra and Lena Horne, instigated by Jones, was abandoned after Horne developed vocal problems and Sinatra, committed to other engagements, couldn't wait to record. This was the first studio album Sinatra had recorded with Jones since 1964's It Might as Well Be Swing.

The sessions were filmed, with a small audience, and released as Frank Sinatra: Portrait of an Album (1985). The documentary shows Sinatra meeting Michael Jackson for the first time, with Jones affectionately calling Jackson "Smelly".

Eddie Van Halen and David Lee Roth make cameo appearances in the video for L.A. Is My Lady, which in turn made moderate rotation on the fledgling MTV Network.

Despite its title, the album was recorded in New York City. The album peaked at #58 on the Billboard 200, and #8 on the Top Jazz Albums chart.


1 megjegyzés:

Ricardo de Sampaio Dagnino írta...

Wonderful, congratulations!! Quincy jones is the best!!