2008. november 12., szerda

Terry Gibbs - Swingin With Terry Gibbs Orchestra And Quartet


01 - Funky Serenade
02 - Gubi
03 - Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
04 - Just Plain Meyer
05 - Bewitched
06 - Let's Wail
07 - Heads Or Tails
08 - Slittin' Sam
09 - I Didn't Know About You
10 - Night Cap
11 - Julie's Bugle
12 - Rockin' In Rhythm
13 - I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
14 - Caravan
15 - Solitude
16 - Take The "A" Train
17 - Sophisticated Lady
18 - Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
19 - Don't Get Around Much Anymore
20 - Johnny Come Lately
21 - C-Jam Blues
22 - Caravan
23 - Sophisticated Lady
24 - Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me


Swingin' with Terry Gibbs is his first recording with a big band and it's a star-studded affair. Among the musicians joining the vibraphonist are trumpeters Ernie Royal and Don Elliott (the latter also doubles on mellophone), trombonist Urbie Green, and valve trombonist Bob Brookmeyer, as well as saxophonists Hal McKusick and Al Cohn, among many others. With compositions and/or arrangements contributed by Cohn, Brookmeyer, Manny Albam, Ernie Wilkins, Al Epstein (who plays baritone sax), and the leader himself, everything falls into place as if this were a working band. It is hard to narrow the 11 tracks to just a few highlights, but Brookmeyer's hot "Just Plain Meyer" (featuring memorable solos by both Cohn and the leader) and Cohn's gorgeous chart of Duke Ellington's overlooked ballad "I Didn't Know About You," showcasing Gibbs' swinging vibes, especially stand out. Fresh Sounds' 2007 edition was expanded to include 13 additional tracks from a pair of hip and unusual quartet sessions recorded in 1957 and 1958. Tracks 12-21 are the album Terry Gibbs Plays the Duke, recorded for Emarcy and released as MG 36128. The lineup for this session includes Gibbs on vibes, marimba, and xylophone, Leroy Vinnegar on bass, drummer Gary Frommer, and hot pianist Pete Jolly on accordion! While it's tempting to dismiss this band merely as a gimmick, this session is far from it. These ten tracks stroll, rock, and swing with a fingerpopping groove that keeps the Duke's elegance, while adding West Coast cool to the mix. The last three cuts -- "Sophisticated Lady," "Caravan," and "Do Nothing 'Til You Hear from Me" -- were all recorded on live television in 1958 with bassist Gary Peacock sitting taking over the chair for Vinnegar. As such, these sessions are not only worth hearing, but worth owning as well.